Grandma

I want to write a poem

About how you seem so small

How I think I could pick you up 

And carry you across the house

Much faster than you could walk

Leaning into me

With a limp I never noticed before

I want to write a poem

About how I wanted to interview you

Before I missed my chance

Before you had passed

But as you asked

Who was here

Over and over again

I realized

It was already too late for that

I want to write a poem

About how you seem like you’re in a box

Cut off from the rest of us

In a separate existence

Trying to hold on to the world

We’re sharing without you

I wanted to write a poem about you

But nothing rhymes with the way I feel

Leave a Reply

